Provinces and territories of Canada

New Brunswick

The province of New Brunswick was named after the German city of Braunschweig ("Brunswick" in Low German, "Brunswick" in English). 

The province that later became a Canadian province received this name in 1784, since King George III, who ruled Great Britain at that time, came from the Hanoverian dynasty and at the same time bore the title of Duke (Elector) of Braunschweig-Luneburg (Hanover).